Running With the Deer

Running With the Deer
Past evergreens I walked where no path led,
my head bowed by duties and obligations.
Into a timeless place I found my way
where a young buck and doe stood quietly together.
There, through the beauty of their eyes I saw
the wordless warmth shared by all true friends
and lovers.
They invited me to run with them through the forested
places of the mind and heart.
In that timeless place we’d share
the sheer joy of being part of all that’s wild and free.
You may see me, now and then, running with the deer.
September, 1992
Leave a Reply

