Greeting Dad

Greeting Dad
I am older than that Trickster Time
and his mercurial Mother Nature.
Older than the stars and Earth
in continuous, evolving Creation
with its dramas of rebirth.
I am part of ageless Spirit—
even in this ever-changing
and ever-aging body of mine.
Yet when I greet my Dad,
I become a child of three
with love-bright eyes and trusting hand.
He’s a humble man of inner strengths,
inspiring and reminding.
I’ve watched his quiet patience
master time and circumstance.
Dad is the northern wilderness to me,
the forests, the water, and land I love.
Like a little child, I see
through my heart when I greet Dad.
April, 2003
Leave a Reply

