Truth

Truth
I have looked upon your eternal
and your ever-changing faces
and lived and died and lived again…
and I have seen that there is nothing
more beautiful or more ugly
than that which is the face of truth.
No lie can match your beauty or your ugliness.
I have seen in countless ways
how you both create and destroy,
heal and wound, enlighten and confound.
You are pervasive, elusive,
understandable, mystifying,
simple and complex.
You both reveal and conceal that which is.
Yes, I have stood before your eternal
and your ever-changing bodies
and lived and died and lived again…
and I have seen that there is nothing
more loved and revered,
nothing more hated and dishonoured,
nothing more acclaimed or ignored
than the presence of truth.
Even I have witnessed and partaken
of your humbling humiliations.
You have shown me both the heaven of oneness
and the hell of separation.
I am wedded to your spirit
throughout the ages,
and with love in you and you in me.
February, 1993
Leave a Reply

